Week 6 – Colour

This week, we were introduced to colour. We looked at different uses of colours and how some colours should be applied, and when other colours are not appropriate. This could be down to personal preference, although some points need to be considered. Whether the colour, is clashing with background colours, meaning it’s unreadable. Or, if the colours used, are too bright to read, too dark to read or if they are red/green meaning people who are colour blind, will not be able to read it. So I started to look at which colours go well together, for my possible colour theme for my website. I also discovered before choosing my colour theme, that some coloured, can be referred to feelings. So I want to stick to upbeat colours, which are bright, happy and have a positive feeling effect.

Considering that my background it going to be white/grey, I need to make sure that the colours that I am going to use are not too bright, as they won’t be readable and rendered useless. I started to look at colour swatches and different schemes. One that stood out for me was the compliment option. So two main colours, that are opposites in the colour chart, but work together well. One that stood out for me was neon pink against a lime green colour. I really liked how these looked, but though, how would they look against my website background. So I done some testing, by writing texts and headings in the colours, and they seemed to stand out well. Initially i was using just a blue colour scheme, and as I was testing these new colours, the existing blue colour, was still on different parts of the page. I really liked how the 3 colours contrasted together, and worked well, so I decided to keep the blue, and go for 3 bright colours, that stand out well and are totally appropriate for my website. Also on the colour theme design website, it shows different shades of the colours, which also contrast, so I can use these different shades for different kinds of texts on my website. For example; I can use the bolder colours for headlines and titles, then the lighter colours for the description text, then the in-between for links.

I am really pleased with my colour theme, that I have created, I think that it works very well and will give an innovative look to my website. I think that in-between the next lectures, I will edit my logo, as my logo currently consists of just blue colours, so I think if I introduce the other two colours into it, it will make it much better, and then match with the rest of my website. As long as a match these colours, with an appropriate text font and colour, then I think this will give my website a more professional look.

Signing off.

 

 

Leave a comment